How to Delete an Apple ID Account Permanently with 3 Steps
If you want to permanently delete an Apple ID account, you can follow the steps below.
How to Delete an Apple ID Account Permanently - 3 Steps
1. Back Up Your Data
Before you delete Apple ID, you should back up all needed data stored in iCloud, including photos, videos, documents, contacts, and other important data.
Still, download any content you have purchased like iTunes music, videos, etc.
Check if there are any subscriptions associated with the Apple ID account you want to continue using.
2. Sign Out of the Apple ID on All Devices
Next, you should sign out of the Apple ID on all devices to prevent new data from being associated with the Apple ID account. Still, if you don’t sign out first, the device may not work once the Apple ID is deleted.
3. Permanently Delete the Apple ID Account
- Open the Apple’s Data and Privacy page in a web browser.
- Sign in with your Apple ID.
- Click the Request to delete your account link under the Delete your account section.
- Choose a reason for why you want to delete the Apple ID account and click Continue.
- Review and agree to the Deletion Terms & Conditions and click Continue.
- Follow the instructions to confirm the deletion. It may take up to seven days for an Apple ID account to be completely deleted since Apple will verify the deletion request.
What Happens If You Delete an Apple ID Account?
Permanently deleting an Apple ID will make all Apple services unusable including App Store, iTunes, Apple Pay, iMessage, Find My, and any purchases on those services.
Still, the user data associated with that Apple ID account will also be deleted including content stored in iCloud.
The subscriptions linked to that Apple ID account will be automatically canceled and you can’t access them with your Apple ID anymore.
After you delete an Apple ID account, you can’t reactivate it or restore your data from the account.
Alternative to Deleting an Apple ID Account
Instead of permanently deleting an Apple ID account, you can temporarily deactivate it if you want to close the account and keep your data intact.
- Still, go to https://privacy.apple.com/ in your browser. Log into your Apple ID.
- Under the Temporarily deactivate your account section, click “Request to deactivate your account”.
- Select a reason for deactivating the account on the next page and click Continue.
- Follow the on-screen instructions to deactivate the Apple ID account. After that, it will pause activity on the Apple ID account and restrict access to your data stored by Apple and iCloud.
How to Create a New Apple ID Account after Deleting the Old One
If you want to create a new Apple ID account after deleting the old one, you can follow the steps below.
- Go to https://appleid.apple.com/account in a web browser to open the Apple ID sign-up page.
- Enter the required information like name, email address, region, etc., and follow the instructions to create a new Apple ID account.
This post offers a step-by-step guide on how to permanently delete an Apple ID account. How to temporarily deactivate an Apple ID account and how to create a new Apple ID are also introduced. Hope it helps.
If your iPhone has problems, you may use BuhoRepair to repair and recover your iPhone, reset your iPhone, etc.